What’s In My Gym Bag

Being fairly new to heading to the gym and working out, it’s taken me a little bit of time to figure out what I actually need to bring along with me.    I work out in the mornings, so I always get dressed to work out at home, but I like to feel prepared once I’m at the gym, so here’s a look at what I keep packed in my gym bag ready to grab and go.

 

  • Nuun Hydration tabs to give my water a boost. 2 flavors because I like to have a choice.
  • Gu Chews or Sport Beans for energy-dense calories during work outs longer than an hour.  Adding these to my training routine has made a huge difference in how I feel during long runs.
  • Yurbuds headphones to listen to my iPhone or plug into the treadmill. I want to get a pair of wireless, but this is what I have for now.
  • Hair brush, hair ties, and a sweat absorbing non-slip headband are a must. While I have been using neoprene headbands, I just got the Sweaty Band pictured above and I’m excited to give it a try.
  • Body Glide because chafing is not fun.
  • Pad lock kept on the handles of my bag so I don’t lose it.
  • Swimsuit just in case I get the urge to do a pool workout.
  • Toiletry Bag with shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and deodorant so I can shower there.
  • Beach Towel to dry off with because the ones at the gym are tiny.
  • Micro-fiber cloth the clean my eyeglasses with.
  • 1-2 bottles of Dasani bringing this from home saves me considerable money.  The up-charge on a water bottle at the YMCA is obscene.
  • P3 Dry Protein Pack within 15 minutes of finishing my workout helps my muscles recover and keeps me out of the McDonalds drive-thru on the way home.

You may notice that there are some important things missing – like my keys, wallet, and phone.   Before I head out to the gym I grab the small bag from my purse that I keep those things in and drop it into my gym bag.  That keeps me from having to take 2 bags along with me.

If I’m going to shower at the gym, I also toss some clean clothes in.  There is nothing worse than showering at the gym and having to put on wet sweaty clothes again because you forgot to bring a change.  Been there, done that, eewwww… now I remember a change of clothes.

What do you keep in your bag?  Am I missing something you can’t live without?  Leave a comment and let me know!

2 thoughts on “What’s In My Gym Bag

Leave a Reply

