Week 8 Wrap-up: Farther, Faster, Fibromyalgia

I kicked ass this week – until that is – my body kicked back.  I didn’t have much time or energy to post anything, but here’s my weekly wrap-up.

Highlights from my week!

  1. I finally had a training day where I broke the 20 minute a mile pace.  This is something that I’ve been striving for the past two months.  Tori and I walked the Museum Path on Thursday and we were at a 19:49 pace according to Runkeeper.  We went to Taco Betty’s afterwards to celebrate.
  2. Friday I had my long walk on the treadmill and took it slow and steady.  My head was absolutely not in it and the whole way was a struggle, but I went 4.11 miles in a little more than an hour and a half.
  3. On Saturday I hit “the zone” at the end of my workout and I even ran a little bit.  Not very far or very fast, but running it was.
  4. My new underwire sports bra from Torrid came in and I must say I love it.  I knew that my regular bras weren’t cutting it (that happens when you have DDD’s) but I didn’t realize just how much I had been bouncing around until I got that well fitting sport bra on and it stopped.  I can move so much more smoothly now that everything is being held in place.  It’s awesome.
  5. Sadly – after such a huge week my body decided to fight back.  After my 4 miler I came home and slept the rest of the day.  I started to run a low grade fever.  Still I went back to the gym on Saturday, only to sleep the rest of the day again.  By 5pm the pain had started, I was in a full blown Fibro Flare.  I’m not sure if it was the weather this week, the fact that I was a little dehydrated, moving to a 5 day a week training plan, or what, but my Fibromyalgia decided to show up and remind me that I can not handle doing all the things.  I hate having Fibromyalgia, it really sucks. Living with disability is something that I try not to focus on, but when I forget my limits my body always reminds me in the most painful way possible.   Today is Sunday and I am in crazy amounts of pain, my brain is fuzzy, and I am absolutely freezing.
  6. Because of the Fibro Flare I’m going to move back to a 4 day training schedule for the next couple of weeks at least.  I need to have a rest day before and after my long days.  I’m not happy about this, but I will figure it out.
Leave a Reply

