Changing My Diet, Changing My Tastes

For the past several months I’ve been trying to eat cleaner.  I’ve given up a lot of artificial foods, and I’m trying to stick with real, slow foods, with much less processing.  This means that I have a much healthier diet than I used to, even though I’m still eating fast food a few times a week.  I have a lot more chicken, interesting grains, fresh vegetables, and fruits are going into my body.  It’s been a subtle change, but one that has almost immediate results.  Within a week I started noticing myself getting fuller faster, and recognizing when I have reached that cut off point.  Diet soda doesn’t taste the same to me anymore, and I’m not craving those artificial sweeteners like I was.

I took my husband to dinner for his birthday last night.  We ate the most amazing beer battered cheese curds.  I felt like I needed some extra protein so I ordered a pulled pork sandwich for dinner.  Huge, huge mistake.  My stomach completely rebelled at all the grease I had consumed, and I couldn’t even finish my dinner.  It was just gross. I’m sure the food was good, it just wasn’t very good to me.  My tastes have changed.  I struggled with the heavy flavors and rich mouth feel of the pulled pork.  I was wishing that I had ordered the spring pea risotto, or a salad with some berries and chicken.

I didn’t set out to change my diet majorly, I wasn’t trying to reduce calories, or to eat smaller portions.  However since beginning to eat closer to the earth all of these things have happened. My body simply can’t handle the same sort of things that it could before, and honestly, I don’t want it to.  I’m happy eating cleaner, and as long as I’m getting the nutrients that I need that is good enough for me.  It will be interesting to see how this develops and if I continue to change my diet because my tastes are changing.

Leave a Reply

