One Year Anniversary 5K

One year ago yesterday I missed stepping off a curb and broke my leg in three places.  It was an impressive trimalleolar fracture, with subsequent tendon and ligament damage.   I spent three months on bedrest drugged out of my mind due to pain.  I spent another three months in physical therapy learning to walk again, after that it was all about perfecting the motions and gaining strength, but even that job isn’t complete and I will forever carry the hardware that stabilizes my fibula.  Today I feel better than I have in years and for the past four weeks  I’ve been in training for a half marathon.  I’m changing the way I look at food, fitness, activity, and meditation.

When I fist broke my leg the doctors didn’t want me to get depressed, so they told me it would be a quick recovery (they straight up lied to me to keep me from freaking out) so I signed up for the 2016 runDisney Virtual Running Shorts 5K.  I thought I would be able to complete it before the finish date on June 30th.  But I was still in a big ass cast when that date came and went, and I hadn’t even begun to start relearning how to walk.  Needless to say – I didn’t do the 5K.

Because I had been a registered participate, they still sent me a medal.   I stuck the medal, still in its box, in a drawer because I hadn’t earned it.

Today I’m happy to say I have finally earned it!  It was damn slow – but I completed my first 5K distance since the accident one year ago.  It’s a HUGE milestone and I’m so happy that I had a bit of Disney magic waiting for me at the end.  I cried as I left the gym, I cried as I took the medal out of the box and put it around my neck.  I’m a sap, I know.

This was just the first of many 5K training days I’ll have on my way to the 2018 Princess Half Marathon, but it’s one that I’ll never forget.   It’s been a long hard road, but I am so proud of how far I have come.

Leave a Reply

