ASICS Women’s Gel-Venture 5

Let me start off by saying that I hate shoes.  I would rather spend my time barefoot on the beach than ever putting a shoe on my foot.  That being said, since I broke my leg last year shoes have become an evil I must deal with in order to walk long distances without pain.  I’ve been doing fairly well in some champions that I found at Payless, however I’ve come to find that as I increase my pace I’m coming up against some serious issues with them.  I think that this may even be the cause of some shin pain I’m having.

My large wide feet (11W) make it pretty rough for me to find shoes in town, so I ordered a pair of ASICS Women’s Gel-Venture 5 trail shoes online.  Well they came today, and I quickly unboxed them to try them on.  I must admit that I wasn’t really expecting them to fit, but so far they feel like they do.  They are just about everything I hate in a shoe – close fitting, tied snuggly, substantial arch support, sort of heavy.  Everything that people tell me I need on my foot to train for this half marathon.  We will see how this goes.

What I’m hoping to get from these is a decent pair of shoes to train in both inside and out.  A familiarity with the brand, and possibly a little help with whatever it is that is causing my shin pain when I’m training right now.  Tomorrow I’ll give them a run.

UPDATED 3/31 – I love these so far.  They’ve only got about three miles on them now but I’m very happy.  The toe box is nice and roomy without them being oversized.  There is lots of arch support.  They do feel a bit heavy to me at 8.7 oz, however they are trail shoes.

One thought on “ASICS Women’s Gel-Venture 5

Leave a Reply

