A Long And Winding Road

Way back in 2009 my husband and I went to Walt Disney World to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary.  While we were there, we noticed lots of women walking around with beautiful medals and tee shirts for the Princess Half Marathon.  They all looked like they were having a great time, and it reminded me of when I was about 16 and my aunt and I talked about the Walt Disney World Marathon.  Running a marathon never seemed like a possibility for me when I was young and and I – I was a swimmer, a mermaid with slow and clumsy land legs.

100_1925.JPGOn that trip I decided that I wanted to do a run one of the races at Walt Disney World. When I got home, I looked up some things and decided that a 5K would be the best option.  So I started walking, and training for 2010 Mickey’s Halloween 5K with my kids.  We booked a trip, and registered for the race, it went well and I was hooked on the Disney running experience (even though I’m a turtle speed walker.)  Another couple of years went by and I organized a girls weekend for the 2012 Princess Half Marathon Weekend, again we walked the 5K and had a fantastic time.  I decided that in 2014 I would do the Enchanted 10K on Princess weekend, and I actually registered for it, but that’s when everything started going down hill.  I had to cancel on participating because I was just not up to it. That feeling of not being up to it persisted and my health began to deteriorate.

Well, I Ran For The CameraSometimes, even when we have the best of intentions, our bodies just give out.  I live with fibromyalgia so I’m used to managing fatigue and chronic pain, but I had something greater going on. I was tired – crazy tired – and I just couldn’t get through the day.  In 2014 4 hour naps became my norm, I couldn’t focus very well, driving was difficult because I would occasionally have vision black-outs, I didn’t feel safe leaving the house alone, and didn’t even have the energy to go  to the grocery store.  After a very physically difficult vacation in 2015, I developed extreme bruising from the flights and decided that I should go to the doctor.  It wasn’t long before we discovered that I was suffering from severe iron deficient anemia.  I began a therapy regime that lasted an entire year before I had recovered.  But as the 2016 Half Marathon ran I decided I could start looking forward to training for 2017.  Then, in March 2016 I broke my leg.

Boy oh boy did I break my leg!!!   It happened in the blink of an eye, I missed stepping down off a curb, a twist, a fall, and boom – three complete breaks.   I was on complete bed rest for three months, I had two surgeries to repair the damage.  There was three months of grueling physical therapy to learn how to walk again.  It took me another six month to perfect the movement and detox my body from all the pain killers.  Before I knew it another entire year was gone, which meant that the 2017 race also came and went.

That brings us to today!  I am feeling better than I have in years, my leg has completely healed, there are no signs of anemia in my blood-work, and my fibromyalgia is being managed nicely.  It’s time, time to dream big and set myself on this long held goal.

I started training this week for the 2018 Princess Half Marathon.  Now – I have a LONG way to go to get to a place that I can finish my goal, but I feel like this is my time.

Leave a Reply

